Cookin’ with my Boo…

My pal shutterboo came over for dinner tonight.  I made homemade beef and noodles, but the most important thing on the menu was dessert!  Thanks to Boo I have been looking through many new food blogs.  I came across Bakerella and found a recipe for Bourbon Sweet Potato Cupcakes as I was browsing her site.  I had to make them.  After all us Southern women do love our bourbon, right?  I made the pecans for the top first.

Pecans copy

Pecans2 copy

Boy were they delicious.  I ate taste tested about 4 or 5 before Boo got here.  Then off to the cupcakes….

Ingredients copy

Mixer copy

They smelled super yummy delicious when they came out of the oven!  It was all we could do to keep out of them before dinner!  After we devoured our dinner we made the icing and glaze for the cupcakes.  That pan below of brown bubbly goodness is the beginning of the bourbon glaze.  Umm, I believe I am making my mouth water, excuse me while I got eat another….

Cupcakes4 copy

Burbon copy

Here is our finished product!!

cupcake2 copy

Now for the moment of truth…the TASTE TEST!!  Mmmm, I think this is the best part of baking goodies.  So Boo, what’s the verdict?

Brooke copy

It’s a winner!!!  Thank you Bakerella for sharing such an amazing recipe!!!  One I am sure to use over and over again. 🙂

Cupcake copy

~ by splendidsweets on November 18, 2009.

6 Responses to “Cookin’ with my Boo…”

  1. Do we get to have these for Thanksgiving or Christmas?

  2. A very inspiring dessert. The cake is moist and not overly sweet. The hint of bourbon in the icing is what makes this goodie so good. The NOM-ness factor in Mel’s kitchen blew my socks off.

    For reals though, I could eat just the pecans dipped in the bourbon icing and call it a day. Yum!!!

  3. This looks so yummy!

  4. […] found a stellar cupcake recipe – she talks about on her blog Splendid Sweets – and though there’s 57 steps from start to finish, it’s worth it.  Believe me, […]

  5. […] With My Mel III It’s been a few weeks since I’ve met up with Melanie (aka Splendid Sweets).  It seems the closer you get to the holidays, the busier you get.  But this time I visited my […]

  6. […] is [and see more awesome stuff that comes out of this gal's kitchen] then you should head over to Splendid Sweets.  She took a slew of photos will me whispering sweet nothings to said chocolate cake… I have […]

Leave a Reply

 
